Sunday, September 10, 2017

They bullshitted when they told you that local food is better for you

So,I keep getting this forward quoting from Rujuta Diwekar's book. Says, we should be eating locally grown food because that is what is good for us. Now let me tell you why this is total bullshit.
First thing, most food that you think are local actually originated in far away lands and arrived in India only recently (a few hundred years which is a blink in evolutionary terms). So, the tomato, the potato, the chili, the onion, the pulses, the wheat, etc r all foreign food items. Today, quinoa, chia and red bell pepper, etc are locally grown, so does that make it Indian food. Or food that came in 300 years ago can be called Indian food. Or should it be what came in 3000 years ago?
Second point to be noted is that nature does not understand political boundaries. The rice does not know that Kerala is in India and Sri Lanka is not. Nor does your digestive tract know that the rice you eat was farmed in Kerala or North Korea (sure, ur taste bud would know it; but then taste is interpreted and named in the brain, and not in the stomach). Alphonso mango will not grow in Kerala or Himachal Pradesh as it would in Ratnagiri. Does it mean that Alphonso mango is bad for a Keralite and a Punjabi, but good for the Maharashtrian (but only Konkani Maharashtrians, not those from the plateaus?).
Thirdly, biologically humans (or homo sapiens) are exactly like all other species. I mean the way a human (as common to a species) digests food or excretes or whatever is similar to all other species. So, if an American buffalo can digest Indian grass as well as American grass; or an African lion can feed on the Indian goat as well as the African goat, there really is no reason why an Mexican quinoa or Chia seeds will not work equally well for Indian citizens.
Sure, tell me that locally grown food is cheaper and there is no real need to spend big money on imported super foods I will agree. But don't give me this bullshit that olive oil is good for Italians but bad for Indians. If u do, then don't mind me for classifying you as a moron 

No comments: